“…are my children working against me?”

19 Aug

To begin my morning, my beautiful red-haired angel of a son does not greet me with tidings of  “Good morning Mommy!”, instead I get:

Ayden: “Mommy, all of these toys are still on the ground.”

Flustered Mommy: “Yes, Ayden, I realize this, we all need to pick them up.”

Angel Ayden: “No, that’s okay, YOU will pick up all the toys Mommy.”

Speechless flustered Mommy: Silence.


This post from Small Notebook could not have arrived any sooner…

excerpt from the post:

My Day is a Series of Five Minutes at a Time

“As a mother to small children, it can be hard when I feel like I lose control over my day. It seems like small things shouldn’t take a long time to do, changing a diaper for instance, but everything takes so much time when you add it together.

When a morning presents difficult challenges, like this morning when I cleaned up a mess that is too gross to tell you about, it’s easy to feel sabotaged. How many times have I wondered if my children are working against me? Like when you’re trying to get ready to go somewhere, and your kid takes her shoes and socks off at the moment you should be walking out the door.

In life with small children, interruptions and messes and small things are not disruptions to my day, they are my day, and I should be ready for them. Why would I expect my day to go as I planned?”

2 Responses to ““…are my children working against me?””

  1. Rachel August 20, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Hi Jaimé, welcome to blogging!

    • Jaimé August 24, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

